Business Search
Find a Product

Coupon Search

Campground Search

School Search

Portage Bay State Forest Campground

Phone number indicated above is for the Management Unit. Sites available on a first-come, first-serve basis. No reservations. 23 sites for tent and small trailer use. Rustic campground includes vault toilets and potable water from well hand pump.
Main Number: (906) 644-2603
LAT 45.726697660500001 LONG -86.535125455200003
County: Delta
Google Map of Portage Bay State Forest Campground
Driving Directions: Delta County - 10 miles South of Garden via Co Road 483 and Portage Bay Road
  • Recreational Pass Not Required
  • Not ADA accessible
  • Categorized as: State Forest Campground
  • Total Number of Sites: 0
Offering: RUSTIC

Facilities at Portage Bay State Forest Campground

Rustic Site:

Activities at Portage Bay State Forest Campground

Fishing: Lake Michigan (on site): Lake Trout, Steelhead, and Coho.
Indian Lake (22 miles NE): Walleye, Bass, Perch, Bluegill, Pike, Musky, Brown Trout, and Lake Herring.
Hiking: Ninga Aki (on site): 2.25 miles of flat terrain with interpretive information on local natural resources and Ojibwa Native American life.
Designated Watchable Wildlife Site: Rainey Wildlife Area provides trails, boardwalks, and an elevated observation platform for viewing wildlife in Indian Lake area. This includes spring/fall warbler migrations, eagles, and osprey.

Trails at Portage Bay State Forest Campground

Phone: (906) 644-2603
Directions: Trailhead located at Portage Bay SF Campground
Not ADA accessible
2.25 miles, hike, bike, camp
Managed by: Fayette Historic State Park
Recreation Passport Required

State Parks & Campgrounds

Alger County

Baraga County

Chippewa County

Delta County

Dickinson County

Gogebic County

Houghton County

Iron County

Keweenaw County

Luce County

Mackinac County

Marquette County

Menominee County

Ontonagon County

Schoolcraft County

Antrim County

Benzie County

Charlevoix County

Emmet County

Grand Traverse County

Kalkaska County

Lake County

Leelanau County

Manistee County

Mason County

Missaukee County

Oceana County

Osceola County

Otsego County

Wexford County

Alcona County

Alpena County

Bay County

Cheboygan County

Clare County

Crawford County

Gladwin County

Iosco County

Midland County

Montmorency County

Ogemaw County

Oscoda County

Presque Isle County

Roscommon County

Site Map  |   Contact  |   About  |   Privacy  |   Michigan Blog